Kamchatka Territory

The Kamchatka Territory, a constituent entity of the Russian Federation, is part of the Far Eastern Federal District, bordering the Chukotka Autonomous Area and Magadan Region in the north and north-east, and the Kuril Islands in the south.


The Kamchatka Territory is located on Russia's Kamchatka Peninsula and the neighbouring part of the mainland. The region is bordered by the Pacific Ocean in the east, the Bering Sea in the north-east, and the Sea of Okhotsk in the west.

Administrative division

The Kamchatka Territory comprises 68 municipal entities, including 3 municipally administered areas, 11 areas, 5 towns and 49 villages.


464,300 square kilometres


Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, located 8,200 kilometres from Moscow

Main cities

Yelizovo, Vilyuchinsk

Main natural resources

Fishing industry

The fishing industry dominates the region's economy, with local fisheries yielding 20% of Russia's overall catch of marine biological resources and producing 16% of the country's fish products.


The Kamchatka Territory has 12 exploited thermal spring deposits, as well as 10 explored deposits and 22 explored prospective areas of vein gold. The territory also has remaining reserves of alluvial platinum, with explorations carried out to determine ore occurrence in bedrock platinum with estimated reserves of 30 tonnes. The Kamchatka Territory has some of the world's largest nickel deposits, ranking 4th in terms of nickel ore mineralisation.

Local hydrocarbon reserves are estimated at 150 million tonnes of oil and 800 billion cubic metres of natural gas, with the pilot extraction of oil scheduled for 2013. Currently, a construction project for a 387-kilometre oil pipeline to the city of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky is being conducted. The territory is abundant in various construction materials, lacking only in those for cement production. The territory boasts over 50 explored deposits of construction materials.


The Kamchatka Territory's population is 347,100.

Regional administration

Governor of the Kamchatka Territory: Alexei Kuzmitsky, appointed on July 2, 2007.

Mayor of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky: Vladislav Skvortsov, elected in December 2004.

Speaker of the regional legislature: Boris Nevzorov, elected on December 14, 2007.


Official website: www.kamchatka.gov.ru

Expert RA