Perm Territory

The Perm Territory, a constituent entity of the Russian Federation, is a part of the Volga Federal District, bordering the Komi Republic in the north, the Republic of Bashkortostan in the south, the Sverdlovsk Region in the east, and the Kirov Region and the Udmurtian Republic in the west.


The Perm Territory is located in the north-eastern part of the East European Plain. The territory comprises 31 administrative districts, 12 regionally administered cities, along with 7 administrative districts of the Komi-Permyak Autonomous Area and the city of Kudymkar.


160,600 square kilometres



Perm, located 1,386 kilometres from Moscow

Main cities

Perm, Berezniki, Chaikovsky, Lysva, Kungur, Krasnokamsk, Chusovoi


The Perm Territory has a temperate continental climate with the average January temperature of -15 С (5 F), and the average July temperature of +20.1 С (68.18 F).

Main natural resources

The region's main natural resources comprise oil, gas, mineral coal, chrome iron ores, gold, rough diamonds, crystalline silica (quartz), citrine quartz, ornamental gypsum, fibrous gypsum, uvarovite, limestone and marble. Raw materials for Russia's potash fertiliser production are extracted in the Kama region (100% of the overall domestic output). The Verkhnekamskoye (Upper Kama) field contains 30 billion tonnes of potassium, magnesium and sodium chloride salts. Almost half of Russia's rock salt deposits are concentrated here. Approximately 100,000 carats of rough diamonds are extracted in the Vishera River basin. Forests take up 69% of the region's territory.


The population of the Perm Territory is 2,791,000 people, with 1,289,700 males and 1,501,300 females. Over 75% of the population is urban, while rural residents account for 24.9%. The economically active population is 1,748,500 people, with those employed in the economic sector reaching 1,346,000 people. The unemployed rate, calculated using ILO methods, is 6.9%, while senior citizens and minors account for 26.4% and 10.9%, respectively. The natural increase rate is negative and stands at -6.2 per 1,000.

Regional administration

Governor of the Perm Territory: Oleg Chirkunov. He has been in office since December 1, 2005.

Mayor of Perm: Arkady Kats. He was elected in May 2006.

Speaker of the regional legislature: Nikolai Devyatkin.

The region's problems and prospects

The main prospects of the Perm Territory development lie in further intensification and upgrading of the industry, and the development of transport infrastructure in the territory is one its top socioeconomic development priorities. For agro-industry the basic development prospects are linked to keeping up the plough land fertility and developing low-cost crop production and breeding technology. The tourist sector can offer many opportunities in terms of the territory's economic development.


Official website:


Expert RA