Orel Region

The Orel Region, a constituent entity of the Russian Federation, is part of the Central Federal District. The Orel Region borders on the Bryansk Region, the Kaluga Region, the Tula Region, the Lipetsk Region and the Kursk Region. 


The Orel Region is located in the central part of the Central Russian Upland.

Administrative division

The Orel Region comprises 23 districts, three municipal districts within the city of Orel, three regionally administered towns, four regionally administered towns and 14 industrial communities.



24,700 square kilometres.


Orel, located 382 kilometres from Moscow.

Main cities

Orel, Livny, Mtsensk, Bolkhov.


The Orel Region has a temperate continental climate, with the average January temperature of -9°C (15.8°F) and the average July temperature of +19°C (66.2°F).


The Orel Region has a population of 842,400, with 322,200 males and 520,200 females. 63.8% (539,100) of the region's population is urban, while residents in rural areas account for 36.2% (303,200). The economically active population is 433,000, with those employed in the economic sector reaching 407,000. The unemployment rate, calculated using ILO standards, is 5.4%. Senior citizens and minors account for 23.6% and 16.1% of the population, respectively. The rate of natural increase (RNI) is negative at -9.6 per 1,000.


Governor of the Orel Region: Alexander Kozlov

Mayor of Orel: Viktor Safyanov

Speaker of the regional legislature:  Ivan Mosyakin


Offcial website: http://www.adm.orel.ru/


Expert RA