Nenets Autonomous Area

The Nenets Autonomous Area, a constituent entity of the Russian Federation, is a part of the Northwestern Federal District. 


The Nenets Autonomous Area occupies the north-eastern part of the Arkhangelsk Region, running in a 110-250 km strip along the Barents and Kara seas, and also includes the islands of Kolguyev and Vaigach. A substantial part of the region is located within the Arctic Circle, which provides acute complications to its economic development.

Administrative division

The region is divided into 21 municipal areas (one municipal region, one municipal area, 18 rural settlements, and one city) managed by local governments.



176,700 square kilometres


Naryan-Mar, located 2,230 km from Moscow

Main cities



The area has a subarctic climate (also called boreal climate) characterised by long, usually very cold winters, and short, cool to mild summers.


The Nenets Autonomous Area population in 2007 was 42,000. The rate of natural increase in the area is positive, which is unique for the European North, with the highest share of young people (nearly 25%) and the lowest share of senior citizens (one-eighth of total population). The level of urbanisation is 60.8%, with two-thirds of the region's urban population living in Naryan-Mar. The indigenous people account for barely 12% of the total population, ethnic Russians account for 66%, and Komi for nearly 10%. The majority of the indigenous people engage in traditional activities such as reindeer breeding, fishing and hunting, whereas the Russian-speaking population work in industries.


Governor of the Nenets Autonomous Area: Igor Fyodorov, elected on February 24, 2008.

Mayor of Naryan-Mar: Yury Rodionovsky, elected on May 19, 2008.


Official website:

Expert RA